South Africa announces test squad for tour of Pakistan

South Africa announces test squad for the tour of Pakistan. This will South Africa’s visit to Pakistan after 14 years. In which 2 new players have added. The last time they came to Pakistan in 2007. This tour will conduct in the bio secure bubble and with security.

South Africa announces test squad for tour of Pakistan
Photo: Cric Info

South Africa announces test squad for tour of Pakistan

According to Cric Info. fast bowler Darren Doppelin and medium pacer Ottenel Bartman have join to South Africa’s Test squad for the historic two Test match series against Pakistan. Most of the players in the South African squad will be the same. Which was part of the home series against Sri Lanka, which the Proteas won 0-2.

However, Doppelin and Bartman will included in the squad in place of Glenton Sturman and Miguel Pretorius. Who injured during training in the series against Sri Lanka. In addition, the spin department of the prostheses will include George Linde and Tabriz Shamsi along with Kesho Maharaj. Overall, South Africa’s Test squad includes seven fast bowlers and two all-rounders.

“Conditions will be new for the South African team,” said Victor Mitt Sang, convener of the South African selectors. We want to keep our defenses strong. Darren Doppelin and Ottenel Bartman are being given a chance based on their recent performances.

Quentin de Kock will continue to lead the South African team as well as perform wicket-keeping duties.

Other than that, the top batsmen are unlikely to change.

Team Squad

South Africa’s Test squad will consist of these players.

Quentin de Kock (captain), Temba Baumama. Aiden Mercrum, Faf Dupleix. Dan Elgar, Kagiso Rabada, Divine Pretorias, Keshu Maharaj, Lungi Nigidi, Rasi van der Dussen, Anrich Norje, Wayne Mulder, Luthor Bienne, Luthor Siper , Sarl Arvey, Keegan Peterson, Tabriz Shamsi, George Linde, Darren Doppelin and Ottenel Bartman.

Series Schedule

This will be the first time that a T20 series will be played between the two teams in Pakistan. Earlier, the South African team had won both the series played in the United Arab Emirates.

The South African team will arrive in Karachi on January 16. After which a series of two Test matches will be played between the two teams. Which will be part of the World Test Championship.

The first Test of the series will played from January 26 to 30 at the National Stadium in Karachi. The second Test of the series will hosted by Rawalpindi from February 4-8.

After that, a series of three T20 matches between the two teams will be played on February 11, 13 and 14 at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

A total of 11 Test series have been played between the two teams since 1995. South Africa won 7 of them. While Pakistan has so far managed to win only one series which played in 2003.

South Africa announces test squad for tour of Pakistan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.